All The Eats

Somewhere along my high school and collegiate traveling adventures I stopped being really adventurous when trying new food. I got very sick several times and decided I had earned the right to picky.

So this year I have played it pretty safe with food; I made a lot of my own meals and was even awarded the superlative “Most likely to be eating Western Food” from my fellow Taichung ETAs.

However I think b/c of the impending move back to the States and because everyone and their mother wants a “goodbye” dinner, I have tried MANY crazy things in the past week.

Last Tuesday I met up with my co workers Brandon and Tim for Japanese food and tried Octopus.

11427726_3080913220461_2645093180862371508_n

Then on Thursday my school had a special treat- an especially good cook came to our school and make chicken soup and grilled two whole chickens for us. Now, you might be thinking, chicken isn’t that exciting, but boy are you wrong!image1

We were given the chicken whole, head, booty, and everything. Navigating through all it’s parts to find meat was adventure, to say the least. I was a bit …unsettled by the look of it but put my big girl pants on and tasted it- it was truly delicious.

Tuesday I took a quick roadtrip to Tainan with my coworker Brandon and we had a plethora of strange but tasty eats.

First, we stopped to have a special delicacy: eel and squid soup. It took some convincing, but it actually wasn’t that bad!

Looked something like this. Once I got over the texture/look it was okay!

That day I also had red bean shaved ice with brown sugar, which was super tasty, and also Sichuan style beef noodles.

It was unbelievably spicy, but also unbelievably delicious. I would take a slurp of soup and have to fight choking on the spice to swallow b/c it was SO GOOD!

It was unbelievably spicy, but also unbelievably delicious. I would take a slurp of soup and have to fight choking on the spice to swallow b/c it was SO GOOD!

As a general rule I’m trying to eat as much Asian food before I leave, b/c when will be back over here? AND it’s SO cheap.

Yesterday I had a retirement celebratory meal I attended and also a farewell dinner.

This is hot pot. I got it at the retirement lunch. Food is boiled in a specific broth to make it extra tasty. I wanted to eat one last hot pot before leaving.

This is hot pot. I got it at the retirement lunch. Food is boiled in a specific broth to make it extra tasty. I wanted to eat one last hot pot before leaving.

And of course the goodbye dinner was at my favorite Indian restaurant: Ganga. Paneer Butter Masala for days.

And of course the goodbye dinner was at my favorite Indian restaurant: Ganga. Paneer Butter Masala for days.

Over the course of the next few days I am meeting up with people to eat Xiaolongbao (soup dumplings), Thai food, and Japanese hibachi. I’m also trying to have tea everyday and mango shaved ice as often as possible.

Trying to live it up while also not contracting some stomach virus. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “All The Eats

  1. Elizabeth Banks says:

    I think I would argue that you were ever adventurous!!! You were my vanilla girl. Mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, vanilla ice cream, marshmallows. I am so so so proud of you. You grew up. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

