White Noise

It’s funny living in a country where the main language spoken is something other than your own. When I want to challenge my brain and work on my Chinese it’s always there- in the background.

But on most days I’m exhausted or zoned out and not focusing and because I can’t understand everything, the language around me becomes white noise. It’s constant and comforting.

Being in the States is going to be a major shock in that regard.

But anyway, I am on my way to Kaohsiung and the young lady next to me just called her mom and I understood her whole conversation. I was eaves dropping! That’s not something I normally can do here! I don’t think I’ve ever been so proud of being nosy.

3 thoughts on “White Noise

  1. Hales says:

    Do you have any tips for a beginner? In changhua it’s hard bc English is limited!!! I’m trying but I can’t find any good books.

    • banksceleste says:

      Hey! Thanks for your question. Getting started with Chinese is always hard. Keeping a journal with phrases you’ve learned is a good start. The textbooks “Integrated Chinese” are what I started on and I thought they were great. Language Partners are good too! 🙂 Good luck, let me know if you have anymore questions!

Leave a Reply

