Inception

The last few weeks have been flying. The official count is 12 more days of this grant, 14 days until I start travel shenanigans.

Getting ready to go has been a whirlwind of activity: selling fans, heaters, luggage, clothes and prepping to sell my scooter, packing and watching Orange is the New Black, and lots of goodbye dinners.

There has hardly been a dull moment.

A couple weeks ago we had our last workshop where our advisers and co-teachers came together and we talked about what we learned and got our official Fulbright certificates. This is my adviser, another adviser, myself, and my co-teacher Janice.

A couple weeks ago we had our last workshop where our advisers and co-teachers came together and we talked about what we learned and got our official Fulbright certificates. From left to right this is my adviser, another adviser, myself, and my co-teacher Janice.

I had a (1st of 2) goodbye dinner with Sharon and Daniel, some Taiwanese friends, at a delicious Thai restaurant.

I had a  goodbye dinner with Sharon and Daniel, some Taiwanese friends, at a delicious Thai restaurant.

A few nights ago I had dinner with my co-teacher Brandon and our coworker Tim. We ate at a Japanese restaurant, and it was delicious.

A few nights ago I had dinner with my co-teacher Brandon and our coworker Tim. We ate at a Japanese restaurant, and it was delicious.

Fancy little rolls

Fancy little rolls

shark eggs -.-

shark eggs -.-

salad with octopus and shrimp!

salad with octopus and shrimp!

I also had 6th grade graduation this week. I had to miss Feng Jia's, but at Da Keng's I witnessed them graduate and also sang "For Good" as a part of the ceremony. Afterwards there was a huge feast and lots of chatting. This is me with my coworker Kelly and Brandon.

I also had 6th grade graduation this week. I had to miss Feng Jia’s, but at Da Keng’s I witnessed them graduate and also sang “For Good” as a part of the ceremony. Afterwards there was a huge feast and lots of chatting. This is me with my coworker Kelly and Brandon.

I didn't get to go to Feng Jia's graduation, but I go to go to their banquet after! The 6th graders acted as waiters and served us which was super sweet. We had lasagna and salad. I was in heaven.

I didn’t get to go to Feng Jia’s graduation, but I got to go to their banquet after! The 6th graders acted as waiters and served us which was super sweet. We had lasagna and salad. I was in heaven.

Last night the director of Fulbright, Dr, Vocke, came to Taichung to talk to us and treated us to a delicious drink of our choice at a fancy cafe. I got fruit tea.

Last night the director of Fulbright, Dr, Vocke, came to Taichung to talk to us and treated us to a delicious drink of our choice at a fancy cafe. I got fruit tea.

So it’s been crazy. So much going on and preparing to leave feels like a dream. I am traveling in Taiwan for the last time this weekend and I am going to the famous Penghu. It should be beautiful and hot as hades.

Next week is my last week at Feng Jia, I am traveling to Tainan with my 6th graders from Da keng for 24 hours, and I have a MILLION goodbye dinners. I have a lot of thoughts and feelings and experiences I will want to share from it all but it might be kept relatively short considering how little time I have left.

Leave a Reply

