Say It Ain’t So

Say it ain’t so, I will not go

Officially down to 1 month until I finish my Fulbright grant. That seems all kinds of crazy. I’ve had my first two rounds of goodbye’s and I can already feel my heart starting to tear.

The first group I had to say goodbye to was the group of people I've been meeting with after meeting a friend of their's in Thailand. I might see some of them again before leaving, but as a whole probably not:(

The first group I had to say goodbye to was the group of people I’ve been meeting with after meeting a friend of their’s in Thailand. I might see some of them again before leaving, but as a whole probably not:(

Then last Friday one of my doormen informed me he was retiring. I was so sad! This is the man who will relentlessly tease Melissa if I get a package and she doesn't, and vice versa. He is always so chipper and kind. When the water company wanted to shut off our water b/c we hadn't paid a bill (we weren't under the impression we were supposed to...whoops!) he insisted that they don't b/c we are foreigners and clearly don't have our sh*t together. He also had Melissa over to dinner over Chinese New  Year when I was gone with my parents. An all around great guy.

Then last Friday one of my doormen informed me he was retiring. I was so sad! This is the man who will relentlessly tease Melissa if I get a package and she doesn’t, and vice versa. He is always so chipper and kind. When the water company wanted to shut off our water b/c we hadn’t paid a bill (we weren’t under the impression we were supposed to…whoops!) he insisted that they don’t b/c we are foreigners and clearly don’t have our sh*t together. He also had Melissa over to dinner over Chinese New Year when I was gone with my parents. An all around great guy.

So the goodbye’s have commenced, I’ve started to shore up plans for traveling post-Fulbright, and I’m scheming on how to maximize my savings til I start my next job. Just a precious few days left.

Leave a Reply

