Roadtrip!

Friday
Kelly picked me up then we picked up Sandy and drove to
Ping dong. We snacked and chatted happily the whole way there. That night I met Kelly’s other friend and we slept at her house. Her name is WeiMei.  I got a room to myself, but there were birds chirping all night and I woke up 4 times in one night so I knew Saturday was going to be a stretch!

Saturday
So I woke up freaking early, before 7 am, which is so atypical for me, but it was already really warm out and the city was already bustling. Like, they needed to get everything done before 9 am!
Thennnnn we went to buy mangoes. Mango season is just starting and so we got some for really cheap which was fabulous.

We dropped the mangoes off at WeiMei’s house then we went to Royal Madrid for breakfast. They were playing Ellie Golding and it was magical.

Breakfast, yum!

Breakfast, yum!

Then we drove to Kenting. But, true to any good natured road trip, we stopped a million times.

We stopped in this tiny place called Fang Liao to see an art village.

IMG_3541

Smiles all around.

 

There was lots of goofing around.

There was lots of goofing around.

Entrance to the arts village.

Entrance to the arts village.

Then we kept driving. Then we *surprise* stopped to take more pictures.

The first really gorgeous beach in Kenting!

The first really gorgeous beach in Kenting!

Jumping pics necessary.

Jumping pics necessary.

We sat for a while admiring our photos and the view, Kelly treated me to some coffee, we drove some more, then we stopped to take pictures.

Truly stunning vistas.

Truly stunning vistas.

After several photo shoots we went to hotel to check in and chilled for a second. After catching our breath we drove to Kenting National Park. We saw a sh*t ton of lizards (I jumped each time), walked around and went in some really cool caves.

Caves!

Caves!

The greenery in the park was very stunning. Really old trees with roots and branches everywhere. It was gorgeous, but made me feel a little claustrophobic?

The greenery in the park was very stunning. Really old trees with roots and branches everywhere. It was gorgeous, but made me feel a little claustrophobic?

Right as we were about to head back to the car there was a 20 minute downpour. Luckily, WeiMei had brought an umbrella (she actually brought it to block the sun but we sure used it for the rain!) and we crouched underneath. The rain cleared and we went to the beach.

...and took more photos.

…and took more photos.

Finally we drove back to hotel and went to the beach to see the sunset.

Stunning view!

Stunning view!

We ate dinner at the resort which was an experience! There was live music and even an electric violin!

Electric violinist.

Electric violinist.

After dinner Sandy and I walked around for a bit to help digest all the food. I introduced and played fooseball with Sandy which was so entertaining. Then we played pool and chatted.We eventually got on the topic of if I would miss Taiwan/what I would miss. I explained that I was going to really miss how safe it was in Taiwan. I tried to explain how America is unsafe for women. Let’s just say that trying to explain general VAW issues in Chinese is really difficult.

Sunday
The next morning we got up and lounged at the resort over a long breakfast and then I read on the beach for a little while. It was a nice relaxing morning. Then we headed back to PingDong, dropped off WeiMei, and headed back to Taichung. While exhausting, it was really fun.

It was great to visit Kenting again, and spend some more time with my coworker. My Chinese FOR SURE improved like, threefold over the trip because we basically only spoke Chinese. I know in the previous post I had only mentioned a learning experience from this trip, but overall it was a great time and I am so glad I went!

Sandy and I at a rest stop otw to Taichung. Lavender ice cream!

Sandy and I at a rest stop otw to Taichung. Lavender ice cream!

*Every single photo goes to the credit of Kelly, the wizard of a photographer.*

Leave a Reply

