KTV The Night Away

So, in Thailand I met some awesome Taiwanese people at my Thai Cooking Class. One of them was from Taichung so since getting back we have hung out a few times and she has introduced me to some of her work friends.

It has been a really fun few months with them and last week they invited me to go KTV’ing with them.

KTV is essentially a really fancy version of karaoke. Generally you pay about $15 USD and get 3 hours of singing bliss and a sort of cheap but satisfying buffet of Asian and fusion food.

I was under the impression that it was cheaper if you didn’t do the buffet, so I ate before arriving. Turns out, I was wrong.

So naturally I had a second dinner.

So naturally I had a second dinner.

There were a lot of traditional looking Asian dishes that I would ordinarily never even consider eating but with Taiwanese friends to introduce me to everything, how could I not?

This is "Lu Wei" which is food steamed in something like soy sauce. It was really interesting. I just had a little bit of noodles and tofu, but it was interesting to try!

This is “Lu Wei” which is food steamed in something like soy sauce. It was really interesting. I just had a little bit of noodles and tofu, but it was interesting to try!

After gorging on a second meal for the evening, the singing commenced! There was a wide range of songs from really slow meloncholy tunes to upbeat k-pop. Some of the songs were hilarious. It was during one of these songs that I learned the Chinese word for b*stard. Chinese lessons, in real time.

I found that this experience KTVing was way more fun that with my American compatriots. The difference was that this was clearly their way to let loose and they were all really really turnt (soberly turnt).

Becky and Melissa killing it.

Becky and Melissa killing it.

They were super impressed, and I was surprised, when I recognized several of the backgrounds in the music videos as being certain places in Taiwan and they were floored when I knew any Chinese.

I ended up having to leave a little early b/c I’m a grandma, but the evening was so so so fun and I found myself gasping for air from laughing too hard several times.

Most of the crew!

Most of the crew!

Leave a Reply

