Thai Food and Tea Factories

One of my biggest goals for this semester is to spend a lot of time with local Taiwanese people and my co-workers. So here are a few interactions with them!


IMG_3423

My co-worker, Kelly took me to a fabulous Thai restaurant for my birthday!

This is what I tried first. It was "pork" but I didn't find out until after I had taken a full bite that it was the pig's forehead. x_x

This is what I tried first. It was “pork” but I didn’t find out until after I had taken a full bite that it was the pig’s forehead. x_x

yummy greens

yummy greens

shrimp cakes!

shrimp cakes!

Green Curry!

Green Curry!

Pad Thai!

Pad Thai!

the yummy dessert!

the yummy dessert!

It was such a fun, delicious meal, but after visiting Thailand I have to say this was definitely Taiwanese-Thai food. After eating we went shopping and decided we would probably buy everything that was available at Uniglo.


For the longest time my principal has mentioned that she would take me to a tea factory she has connections to, and this past weekend I finally took her up on that offer. It was a crazy rainy day so it seemed like the perfect activity. We got there and ended up having to wait an hour for a tour bus to join us so I got to try a few samples of tea and had the opportunity to chat with my principal for a while. Then the tour started.

trying to serve/drink tea the traditional way!

trying to serve/drink tea the traditional way!

You start with the tea cup on top of the tube like cup and are supposed to flip it over so the tea falls out of the tube like cup into the tea cup. This is the "Traditional" way.

You start with the tea cup on top of the tube like cup and are supposed to flip it over so the tea falls out of the tube like cup into the tea cup. This is the “Traditional” way.

I got to see the way they processed tea. Apparently they dry their tea leaves 16 times before they are viable. Then I got to try an unbelievable amount of tea.

IMG_3411

Brown Sugar Ginger!

IMG_3412

Crystal Sugar Almond! My favvvv.

IMG_3415

Black rice….some how I avoided this one.

Those were just a few. Some were very interesting, some were delicious.

After the tour! Terrible lighting but what can you do on a rainy day?

After the tour! Terrible lighting but what can you do on a rainy day?

That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

