What A Life!

It’s been a while readers! After my month long vacation I quickly spiraled into a post-travel cold that seemed to grip me with the ferocity of a Mama Bear.
I was able to finally shake it off in time for……my birthday!
Officially, my birthday was Friday but festivities started off on Thursday night when I was with some Taiwanese friends and they surprised me with a beautiful strawberry cake!!!

It was so delicious and such a fun surprise!

It was so delicious and such a fun surprise!

I finally made it home Thursday night and received a call from my principal. She wanted to know if she could stop by with my birthday present because she wouldn’t see me on my birthday. One of our mutual interests is tea and so she gave me the most fabulous tea set…

beautiful!

beautiful!

I was speechless. It was such a thoughtful gift.
So I went to bed Thursday bubbling with excitement and gratefulness.
My Friday classes weren’t anything too special, but I had arranged with the 1st grade teacher to watch Monsters University with the 1st and 2nd graders after lunch so that was ridiculously fun.

I brought them all a piece of candy. Soooo many hugs!

I brought them all a piece of candy. Soooo many hugs!

Then I went home and relaxed for a few hours before getting all dolled up and meeting with some friends for dinner at one of my favorite restaurants in Taichung.

We had some delicious food...

We had some delicious food…

and they surprised me with a super adorable cake and incredibly tasty cream puffs!

and they surprised me with a super adorable cake and incredibly tasty cream puffs!

I honestly haven't laughed so hard in weeks. So grateful people could make it out for dinner! It was also so fun to introduce some of my ETA friends to other friends of mine.

I honestly haven’t laughed so hard in weeks. So grateful people could make it out for dinner! It was also so fun to introduce some of my ETA friends to other friends of mine.

Then I sweet talked these three into getting a frozen margarita with me.

Then I sweet talked these three into getting a frozen margarita with me.

Made some good memories!

Made some good memories!

Then I went home and PASSED OUT super excited for Saturday.
See Julianna and I (featured above) had planned to go paragliding on Saturday.
We met up and headed out riding a bus for an hour to Puli where we met up with our instructors. We took a cab up to the starting point and we were FREAKING out. We were on the edge of a cliff, literally.
Our instructors, Karlis and Tim, calmly explained some flight logistics and after a few minutes started strapping us into our gear. Then before I knew it I was taking off and in the air! This flight was unlike anything I have experienced. There was no falling sensation, unlike if you bungee jump or parasail. So, I loved it! I saw a bald eagle flying near us and got to use a go pro to take footage and photos. Our instructers are trained in acrogliding, or acrobatic paragliding, so part of the “ride” was fancy moves that made you feel like you were on a roller coaster. It was SO fun, but by the 4th or 5th time I was feeling SO nauseous I thought I was going to vomm all over this poor instructor! Luckily we landed and I got my life together before that happened.

Screen Shot 2015-03-22 at 9.25.10 AMScreen Shot 2015-03-22 at 9.21.59 AM
All in all it was an incredible couple days and I’m so grateful to everyone involved. Here’s to a new year that will surpass the last one!

Leave a Reply

