The Motto: YOLO, Pt 1.

It’s funny, since moving here I’ve felt emboldened to do things that I would just probably never do in the states. Like jumping off cliffs into a waterfall pool, or buying a “mo-te-che” (scooter), or  singing “Let it Go” in front of over a 1,000 people at a Buddhist reception. Oh wait I didn’t tell you about that? Let me start from the beginning.

Last Wednesday.
We start to practice for our groups’ performance. Someone had picked Let it Go. Chris and I opt to sing, over dancing. We work on it for a bit and it ends up that I am going to sing lead and Chris is going to harmonize. I also discover that even though I have heard Let it Go a million times, I still don’t have it memorized?

Thursday
Memorize lyrics memorize lyrics memorize lyrics.

Friday
Work on the hard parts. Like all of the high notes.

Saturday
Have an AWESOME day gallivanting with Phoebe, an ETA from Kaohsiung. Practice the song like one time.

Sunday
We woke up supppper early Sunday morning and met at the train station to take a bus to Taipei, where the event was being held. After a short nap we rolled up to the temple and, blearied eyed, stumbled out of the van. The entrance of this place revealed that the temple (more like tunnel) went on for over a 1/4 mile. There were 120 tables outfitted with matching china, a huge decorative stage and several buddha statues and tributes. It was beautiful, and entirely overwhelming.

Where we would perform, and where all the action happened.

Where we would perform, and where all the action happened.

SONY DSCSONY DSC
Almost immediately Professor Li (I think was his name) asked if we wanted to practice, then insisted we practice, as things were being set up. Not everyone from our group had made it yet, but it wasn’t going to hurt, right?
So we went through it 3 times, the sound system crackling, going in and out. Right as we were about to get off stage and stop practicing our last three performers showed, so we did it a couple more times. We had the “set up” people entranced. Good sign.

We took about an hour to ourselves, before the banquet (reception?) started. I changed into my dress and a lady blew out my hair. Felt pretttty fancy. Then I wondered around taking photos.

Around noon the reception started. So for this Buddhist temple there were two nuns called “Masters” who according to the majority of people in attendance had healed people. They were adorable ladies. One had done some research on the effects of microwaved food and so we heard a lot about that. We also heard a lot about the benefits of being a vegetarian. We got several courses of vegetarian food which were, all things considered, pretty good. (Not going to lie though, I got home that night and was a mission for some protein in meat form. Put it in my belly.)

IMG_2058

vegetarian noms.

There was a lot of pomp and circumstance and we had finally gotten a few trays of food when Professor Li suggested we go back stage because we would be in on ” in 10 or 15 minutes.” Well, we went back stage and sat around for an hour because the Master shared her thoughts on microwaves. So by the time we were supposed to go on I was barely even nervous anymore, just wanted to get it over with and EAT!

I made everyone huddle up before performing.

I made everyone huddle up before performing.

I could describe the performance to you, or you could watch it.

Watch it ???

Let’s just say the audience was happy?

co-singer

Chris and I post-singing.

We took a lot of photos, stuffed our faces with imitation meat and rice, and eventually headed home to Taichung.

...More imitation meat.

…More imitation meat.

A friend I made! She was handing out candy. Apparently she is "Haka" or indigenous Taiwanese.

A friend I made! She was handing out candy. Apparently she is “Haka” or indigenous Taiwanese.

the CUTEST

the CUTEST

Chia and I struggling.

Chia and I struggling.

 

Julianna and I with our FAV buddha

Julianna and I with our FAV buddha

One Happy Family (featuring Iris's mom).

One Happy Family (featuring Iris’s mom).

But something like that would just never happen in America. I would not sing Let it Go in front of 1,200 people at a Buddhist Reception.  Yolo.

2 thoughts on “The Motto: YOLO, Pt 1.

  1. yt says:

    I don’t think there’s an indigenous Taiwanese group called “Haka.” The Hakka (客家) people of Taiwan are descendants of migrants from Guangdong (廣東) Province in China during the Ming (明) and Qing (清) dynasties.

Leave a Reply

