Monkeyin’ Around

Quickestttt update. This weekend I visited Kaohsiung, one of Taiwan’s most southern cities. It’s known for its beaches and its notoriously  hot weather. (Like, steamy, humid, sticky, hot weather. Still in the 80s in November…)
I originally had the intention of visiting a small island off the coast this weekend called XiaoLiuQiu, but that is not where the wind blew me. Instead I ended up having quite the adventure in the city itself!
First off I went with some ETA’s to an aboriginal restaurant to celebrate one of their birthdays. Happy birthday Tim!

I have to say after that meal, I like aboriginal food FAR MORE than I like Chinese food. Alligator, pork, delicious noodles, edemame, and so much more.

There were some aboriginal performances and they even came over and sang to the birthday boy!

There were some aboriginal performances and they even came over and sang to the birthday boy!

SUPER salty fish, but so tasty.

SUPER salty fish, but so tasty.

What a spread!?

What a spread!?

Saturday brought more good eats: a breakfast burrito from HEAVEN and some hiking on Monkey Mountain. Taiwan has a lot of monkeys but I had previously only seen two. Thus in visiting Kaohsiung it was necessary to visit ze beasts.

I swear these two are siblings. They were wrestling and arguing over a water bottle the ENTIRE time.

A little monkey family:)

I swear these two are siblings. They were wrestling and arguing over a water bottle the ENTIRE time.

I swear these two are siblings. They were wrestling and arguing over a water bottle the ENTIRE time.

After monkeying around a bit we headed over to Cijin, an island in Kaohsiung’s harbor. It was mind blowing to me because you just hop on a ferry, WITH your scooter, and in like 10 minutes you are on an island. So cool.

chilling on the ferry otw to Cijin.

chilling on the ferry otw to Cijin.

IMG_1694

Getting ready to get off!

Cijin beach

Cijin beach

It was such a fun afternoon chilling on the beach, sipping on Mango smoothies, listening to random live music performances.

Until next time..

S

Leave a Reply

