Fear.

I remember waking up my last day of cross-country camp before freshman orientation in distress terrified. I couldn’t move. The team captains had to carry me to the van to go back to campus. For about 12 hours most of my memories are really hazy, but I do remember my mother taking a picture of me and almost biting her head off.

The next thing I remember is leaving my parents hotel at 4 am with a raging fever,  stealing the Marriot’s plush throw blanket to try and fight the chills that were running through my body. I was admitted to Emory University hospital with a 104.9 degree fever.

I didn’t realize until much later how sick I was. My parents thought I was going to die because the hospital couldn’t figure out what was wrong with me.

Being that sick was an out of body experience. I don’t really remember it. I do remember getting out of the hospital, walking with my mother to the bookstore, and insisting on sitting down because I didn’t have the strength to walk all the way across campus. I also remember being hospitalized for bronchitis a month later because my immune system was shot, and then my hair falling out because the fever had been so damn high.

Two weeks before I got stupid sick, I had been in South Africa teaching HIV/AIDS prevention in a super remote region. The doctors concluded that whatever I had contracted I must have gotten while in South Africa.

Two years before, I had been to South Africa on the same program and gotten a terrible terrible case of bronchitis and tonsilitus.

A nurse practitioner at Emory told me that if I had gone to college a year earlier I would have for sure gotten the bird flu.

So you see, I have this lovely terrible track record with maintaining my health while traveling, or after traveling. Thus far in Taiwan I’ve only had a sinus infection, and I count myself lucky.

I titled this “Fear” because getting super sick was my only real fear before coming here.

I remember being interviewed by the Emory Wheel for a piece on Fulbright and being asked if I had any concerns before going abroad; I was like, “I am sort of concerned for my health?” Which of course was not published because it isn’t an interesting concern. But it is relevant.

What I am discovering, however, is that if I act like a grandma, and go to bed early, eat super healthy and if I am stingy with what I eat, I will be okay.  I’ve definitely cooked for myself more than I ever have before (hey veggies how you doinnn), and I’ve definitely been the pickiest eater out of the Taichung ETA’s, but I’m not sorry.

I don’t really have anything to wrap this up with. I blogged about this because I woke up from the strangest dream last week where I was surfing and a shark bit my arm off.
Which is ACTUALLY the MOST bizarre thing ever, but had me thinking about hospital visits in foreign countries…and here we are. And that is all!

Leave a Reply

