Waterfalls, Bruises and Olaf

Waterfalls

So the last few weeks I’ve been on several adventures that absolutely require some attention on my blog. Two weekends ago I went to a waterfall in Taiping with some friends and jumped off a cliff into a pool below the waterfall. Afterwards we chilled on some rocks enjoying the gorgeous weather while butterflies floated above our heads.

photo 1(16)

so, I jumped from the rock on the right. looks crazy, and it was, but it was do able.

photo 3(16)

….after jumping you had to climb back up (which was actually the craziest thing, ever)

Suffice it to say: my heart hasn’t felt like it was going to beat out of my chest like that in a while.

Bruises

I previously blogged about Hashing. After doing my first hash, I decided it would be a good idea to sign up for an All-Island event that encompasses a whole weekend- and involved 2-3 runs around Yilan county. Essentially a group of 80 people from all over Taiwan (and the world) got together and went on several adventure runs and partied. It was some kind of crazy; I have scratches and bruises literally all over my body. By far my favorite part was the runs because they were ridiculously beautiful.

t4

Holli and Andrew (from Taichung) Jake and I before run day 1!

photo 4 (3)

rockbed at the end of the first run

photo 2 (4)

running through farms!

photo 1 (5)

running on trails!

photo 3 (3)

I posted asking if any other Fulbrighters would want to join me and one did- Jake. Running through a river!

photo 1 (1)

During run 2

photo 1 (2)

Run 2! EEK! (Thankfully didn’t see any…)

photo 1 (3)

After two days on these trails…

photo 1 (4)

Saw my first monkey!

photo 2

We climbed up ladders…

photo 2 (2)

Waterfall at the end of the run! (Day 1)

photo 2 (1)

Struggling up a mountain…

photo 3

Crossing janky rivers

photo 3 (1)

View from on top of the mountain (run 2)

photo 3 (2)

View from on top of the mountain (run 2)

photo 4

Ran under bridges

photo 4 (1)

Repelled? down mountains. Ropes galore!

photo 4 (2)

This friendly bugger was on the second run. I ran right by him and didn’t notice.

t1

During the second run..

t2

Adventure run #2 or divergent? You tell me…

t3

At the end of run #2

Olaf

olaf

Throughout the weekend one of the runners bopped around with Olaf (from Frozen…) Eventually persuaded him to give me his stuffed animal. Pure excitement.

2 thoughts on “Waterfalls, Bruises and Olaf

Leave a Reply

