Tealit (Teaching English and Living in Taiwan)

So, I figured at some point I would have to introduce tealit. This is an amazing tool for people living in Taiwan in shoes similar to mine. You can find out if you’ve won the lottery, you can put out an ad for a boyfriend, or you can put up an ad for a language partner all on one site!… The premise of a language partner is that you will meet up or skype and work on the language you are studying, together.

I put up an ad because I want to meet new people, and especially because I want to work on my Chinese while I’m here.

The responses to my ad have been…..overwhelming.

Here are a few…

Some are simple:

Hello~ This is Chris,
I am a native Chinese speaker,

I live in Taipei, and I have been learning English for 6 months.
I saw your message on tealit.

Some are SUPER detailed and emphatic:

My name
is Jake. I’m a Taiwanese-American from Houston,
Texas.  My family moved to USA when I was 6 and I went to school in Texas from Grade 1 to University.

My major was marketing.  I have been in Taiwan for many
years and it is my home now.

if my back ground and experience is interesting to you, then i will send an
resume!

I am a full time English teacher.  I have 19 years of
teaching experience with both children and adults. I have the ability and know-how on how to improve your student’s English
ability.  I have experience teaching using
movies, Tv shows, songs, Magazines and I also have
taught many testing courses, like GEPT, Toeic
and Toefl.
I ALSO SPEAK A NEAR PERFECT MANDARIN WITH A CLEAR BEJING TONE AND ACCENT!, ID LIKE FOR US TO BECOME LE PARTNERS!

Don’t make a mistake of hiring someone that
can ONLY speak English but have no idea
about language teaching methods.

Some are just plain aggressive…

DEAR Celeste,
I SAW YOUR INFORMATION ON A TEALIT WEBSIT AND KNOW YOU ARE LOOKING FOR MANDARIN PARTNER TO PRATICE WITH !
AS I AM LOOKING FOR A ENGLISH SPEAKER TO TEACH MY TWO KIDS WHO ARE (7& 8 YRDS GRADE 2 AND GRADE 3 IN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL)!
I WAS SO GLAD TO KNOW THAT YOU ARE A ENGLISH TEACHER AND I THINK THINGS  WOULD BE MORE EASIER !
I CAN HELP  YOU HOW TO SPEAK MORE QUICK IN MANDARIN!HOPE WE CAN HELP EACH OTHER IN THE FUTURE , WAIT FOR YOUR GOOD NEWS !
BY THE WAY I LIVE IN TAIPEI  !
I AM TWO KIDS MOTHER NAMED MAGO !
LOOKING FORWARD TO YOUR NEWS !!
Thanks & Regards,
MAGO

Some make it feel like I was posting an ad on a dating site:

Hi Celeste,

It’s Eddie, I saw your language exchange post from the website http://www.tealit.com/
I am a native mandarin speaker and I live in Taipei.
I am learning English with a home-teacher every Sunday, to practice speak.
So I am interested in having language exchange with you.
You can take a look of me, attachment is my photo.
If you are interested, please let me know.
Thank you

I ended up skying with a college student that goes to school in Taipei, studies international trade, and who is originally from Taichung. I’m hoping to skype her a couple times a week at least, and see her when I can. We’ve agreed if either of us has questions about how to say something we will text each other. She seems really cool!

So, I realize this is super random, but it really is an incredibly interesting part to Taiwan’s culture and felt like sharing:)

One thought on “Tealit (Teaching English and Living in Taiwan)

  1. Elizabeth Banks says:

    This is a great option. I’m glad you found it. I think you found the right study partner, teehee. Thanks for sharing your life.

Leave a Reply

